How many Pirates of the Caribbean movies are there?

– Advertisement –

Pirates of the Caribbean is one of those rare pieces of art that was inspired by an amusement park ride. The first film, which was released in 2003 and quickly became a smash, was based on a ride of the same name at Disneyland.

Even after 18 years and five films, the fantasy swashbuckler film series Pirates of the Caribbean is still one of the best.

A major component of the Pirates of the Caribbean media franchise, the film series consists of five original films and one short film. The five original films had a combined box office take of over $650 million, totaling over $5 billion.

– Advertisement –

Before the 2003 release of the first Pirates of the Caribbean, which starred Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom, and Keria Knightly, Hollywood believed that pirate films were detrimental to the box office. These swashbuckling adventures were first looked down upon, much as superhero films before the MCU gained significant traction.

Read Also: Noah Schnapp height: How tall is Noah Schnapp?

How many Pirates of the Caribbean movies are there?
How many Pirates of the Caribbean movies are there?

– Advertisement –

At the time, high-profile flops like Cutthroat Island and Disney’s animated adventure Treasure Planet only served to reinforce this notion.

Because of the lack of support for the film, a different straight-to-video production featuring Christopher Walken as Jack Sparrow was briefly contemplated. This film was based on the famous ride.

Disney nevertheless made the decision to take a bet on the endeavor, and they were rewarded with a major success that led to a number of sequels.

Read Also: Taylor Swift net worth: How much is Taylor Swift worth?

How many Pirates of the Caribbean movies are there?

To date, four sequels to the original film have been published, with Johnny Depp’s Captain Jack Sparrow being a constant throughout and helping the franchise gross approximately $5 billion collectively. Since Depp’s ex-wife Amber Heard levelled claims against him, the franchise has had a hard time moving ahead. However, it was announced in 2020 that Disney would make a new Pirates of the Caribbean film, starring Margot Robbie. However, the plot of this new chapter has not yet been fully revealed.

The names of the Pirates of the Caribbean films don’t contain any sort of numerical system, so unless fans have been paying attention over the years, knowing which films to watch when can be perplexing.

The order of the films in the series, including Pirates of the Caribbean 6 and the spin-off feature, is as follows;

Pirates Of The Caribbean: The Curse Of The Black Pearl (2003)

Pirates Of The Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest (2006)

Pirates Of The Caribbean: At World’s End (2007)

Pirates Of The Caribbean: On Stranger Tides (2011)

Pirates Of The Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales (2017)

Pirates Of The Caribbean 6 (TBC)

Possible Pirates Of The Caribbean Spin-Off (TBC)

– Advertisement –

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.